Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The AACF Board of Directors has 30 members from the Athens area. The Board is diverse and represents a wide variety of interests from throughout the region. The full Board meets quarterly and committee work is ongoing.


Bill Douglas, Chair

CEO/President, Athens First Bank & Trust

Alex Patterson, Vice Chair

Esq. Alston & Bird, LLP, Retired

Webster Hewitt, Treasurer & Finance Committee Chair

Owner, Hewitt Lane Independent Financial Counsel

Kelly Holloway, Secretary

Esq. Attorney, Fortson, Bentley & Griffin, P.A.




Buddy Allen, CEO, B. Allen and Company

Dr. David Allen, The Urology Clinic

Phil Bettendorf, Seniore Vice President, Athens First Bank & Trust

Ricky Chastain, President, Chastain & Associates Insurance

Bill Cowsert, Cowsert & Avery, LLP and State Senator

Bertis Downs, Esq. Attorney, Manager REM

Robert Fezekas, Independent Financial Consultant

Dexter Fisher, Director of Facilities Management, UGA

Dr. Jennifer Frum, Vice President for Public Service and Outreach, UGA

Tim Johnson, Executive Director, Family Connection Partnership/ Communities in Schools

Judge Steve C. Jones, US District Court, Northern District of Georgia

Kathy Kirbo, Executive Director, Reefball Foundation

Cynthia Lester, Vice President and Senior Trust Relationship Manger, Synovus Trust Company, N.A.

Pat Mercardante, Vice President, WHM Group at Morgan Stanley Wealth Management

Scot Morrissey, Publisher, Athens Banner Herald

Jinx Patel, Research Director, Athens Research and Technology, Inc.

Ed Perkins, International Vice President Retired, Johnson & Johnson

Dr. Tom Rodgers, Professor Emeritus, UGA Housing and Demographics Research Center

Lewis Shropshire, President Retired, Motel Enterprises

Dr. Regina Smith, UGA Associate Vice President for Research

Judge Lawton Stephens, Superior Court, Western Judicial Circuit

Ovita Thornton, Clarke County School Board & Georgia Clients Council

Dr. Carol Winthrop, Retired, UGA Academic Affairs