



## Northeast Ga. School System Receive Grants from Local Response Fund

Fourth Round Deployed to Ensure School Systems Can Focus On Students

ATHENS, Ga. (Jul 9, 2020) – The COVID-19 Community Response Fund, hosted by the Athens Area Community Foundation in partnership with United Way of Northeast Georgia, announced its fourth round of grant distributions to the 14 school systems in the 12-county region today. The school systems are facing a multitude of expenses like necessary PPE, thermometers, and cleaning and sanitation supplies, to resources like tablets, wireless hotspots and more for virtual learning potentials. This round of disbursements totals \$72,000.

The fourth round of grants include equal grants to all school systems across the 12-county region, including:

Banks County School System Hart County Charter System

Barrow County School System Jackson County School System

Clarke County School District Jefferson City Schools

Commerce City Schools Madison County School District

Elbert County School District Morgan County School District

Franklin County Schools Oconee County Schools

Greene County School System Oglethorpe County School System

Students in all of the region's counties and cities faced a sudden departure from in-person learning during the most recent school year, disrupting the education of local kids. As a result students are facing a drop in learning beyond the standard summer slump, and with the unknowns of the 2020-2021 school year, school systems are facing more needs than ever. The grants from the COVID-19 Community Response Fund allows the school systems to use the funds to ensure safe and healthy ways to teach and educate their students.

The Athens Area Community Foundation and United Way of Northeast Georgia are grateful for the financial stewardship of more than 370 individuals, organizations and businesses. We are especially thankful for the major gifts and contributions from CareSource Foundation, First American Bank & Trust, Foundation for the Carolinas, Georgia Power Foundation, Ross & Leigh Campbell with Georgia Skin Cancer & Aesthetic Dermatology, South State Bank, The Caterpillar Foundation, The Huffer Foundation, The Wilbur and Hilda Glenn Family Foundation, Truist, Zeist Foundation, and Athens Area Community Foundation Fundholders.

The fund is still open and accepting donations. Anyone can help by making a donation to the COVID-19 Community Response Fund. To make a donation, please visit <a href="www.athensareacf.org">www.athensareacf.org</a>. Funds will be granted to highest needs areas and to organizations based on data and community insights and assessments. The funding will not be restricted to current United Way of Northeast Georgia- or other collective nonprofit-funded organizations.

## **ABOUT ATHENS AREA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION**

The history of the Athens Area Community Foundation is rooted in the trusted leadership of community members focused on expanding our ability to serve as a public grantmaking foundation partnering with donors, nonprofits, and institutions to grow, preserve, and share philanthropic assets. Its stated mission is "to help passionate donors leave permanent legacies, foster strategic philanthropy, and shape effective responses to community needs through collaboration." Serving Barrow, Clarke, Jackson, Madison, Oconee, and Oglethorpe counties. For more information about the Athens Area Community Foundation, please visit <a href="https://www.athensareacf.org">www.athensareacf.org</a>.

## **ABOUT UNITED WAY OF NORTHEAST GEORGIA**

Since 1954, United Way of Northeast Georgia has been helping families and individuals in need. United Way of Northeast Georgia is a local 501(c)(3) nonprofit that motivates and mobilizes resources to meet the highest priority needs of families and individuals in Northeast Georgia. With a Community Impact model, United Way of Northeast Georgia strategically funds programs that move the needle in three focus areas: basic needs, early childhood success, and workforce development. By working with leaders and community members across our region, we can focus on improving conditions for all of our neighbors in our twelve counties which include: Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Greene, Hart, Jackson, Madison, Morgan, Oconee and Oglethorpe. For more information about United Way of Northeast Georgia, please visit www.unitedwaynega.org.