Sign up for Ready, Set, Go! Board Leadership Training



Rhodes McLanahan
President & CEO, First American Bank & Trust


Sara Schramm
Attorney, Blasingame, Burch, Garrard & Ashley, P.C.


Jinx Patel
Scientist, Athens Research and Technology, Inc. – Retired


Clark Brown
Wealth Strategist, Vickery Financial

Immediate Past Chair

Phil Bettendorf 
Senior Vice President, Synovus Bank

Board Members

Alicia Battle Director of Workforce Development, Goodwill of North Georgia
Amy BeMent Attorney, Blasingame, Burch, Garrard & Ashley, P.C.
David Bradley President & CEO, Athens Area Chamber of Commerce
Bob Carson President, Carson Advisory Group, Inc.
Kevin Clark Regional Sales Representative, Pop RV's
Sally Coenen Community Member
Myron Downs Co-founder, Athens Veterinary Surgery Center
Dexter Fisher Chief of Operations, Clarke County School District
Jennifer Frum VP for Public Service and Outreach - University of Georgia
Patrick Garrard Attorney
Kelly Girtz Athens-Clarke County Mayor
Bevan Hopper CPA, WBH Consulting
Tim Johnson ED, Family Connection-Communities In Schools of Athens
Tawana Smith Mattox CCSD Board of Education
E.O. "Rod" Rutledge Healthcare Executive, Retired
Kirk Smith President, The Adsmith
Lawton Stephens Judge of Superior Court
Roy Stowe COO, Jackson EMC
Justin Widener R&D Leader, Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health

Become a Donor

The Athens Area Community Foundation is a public grantmaking foundation that builds community by encouraging long term giving through funds created by caring donors.

Donate Now